Asia-America Institute in Transnational Law

The Asia-America Institute in Transnational Law is a summer programme of study in Hong Kong sponsored by Duke University School of Law and The University of Hong Kong Faculty of Law.  The Institute has been in operation since 1995.

The programme of study is designed for students, lawyers, and others with an interest in international and comparative law and, in particular, for those who are or plan to be engaged in international practice at law firms and financial institutions.  The Institute brings together participants and faculty members from around the world to study and live together in a residential college at the University of Hong Kong.  This arrangement facilitates informal student-to-student and student-to-faculty exchange in a very congenial setting.  The thoroughly international composition of the summer institute - the students, the faculty, the courses - stamps it as a truly distinctive programme.

The 2016 Institute runs from 26 June to 26 July 2016 and will offer the following courses:

  • Comparative Election Law

Taught by Professors Ding Xiaodong and Dan Tokaji

  • Cultural Heritage and Environmental Law

Taught by Professors Ben Boer and Stefan Gruber

  • Entrepreneurship and the Law

Taught by Professors Jeff Ward and Shen Wei

  • FinTech: Legal Issues and the New Paradigms in Financial Services

Taught by Professors Angela Itzikowitz and Douglas Arner

  • Introduction to American Law

Taught by Professors Paul Haagen and Diane Dimond

  • Introduction to Law and Development

Taught by Professors Zhang Taisu and Ling Bin

Credit Bearing for HKU Students

HKU law students who successfully complete the Institute courses may be entitled to treat the courses as credit bearing (3 credits per course up to 9 credits) for the purposes of their undergraduate or JD law programme. 

Summer Law Study Scholarships for HKU Students

The Institute will provide up to 6 scholarships for HKU students to participate in 2016.  Scholarship recipients serve also as programme interns and are only required to pay the registration/administration fee, which may also be covered by a limited number of Faculty of Law scholarships.  The scholarship covers the full tuition fee which is over US$4,850.  For more information on how to apply for the scholarship, please read the attached memo.  The deadline for applying is 6 May 2016. Testimonials from former HKU scholarship recipients can be read here: Ervin Tan and Ernest Ng.

The HKU Co-Directors of the 2016 Institute are Professor Douglas Arner and Professor Simon Young.

More information about the 2016 Institute can be obtained from the Institute website –